The Best Singles of 2014, #6

fka twigs

6. FKA Twigs, “Two Weeks”

I have plenty to write about FKA Twigs in the coming days, much of which relates to this extraordinary single from the stupendous album LP1. But when it comes to “Two Weeks”, it is, flat out, one of the steamiest songs I have ever heard. Thrumming sub-bass, beautifully pulsating beats, the simplest synth accompaniment, and some brutally frank lyrics by Twigs, who moans, whispers, and sings lines that take you aback: “Feel your body closing, I can rip it open…My thighs are apart for when you’re ready to breathe in / Suck me up, I’m healing with all the shit you’re dealing / Motherfucker, get your mouth open you know you’re mine.” It’s the most confrontational, urgent song on the record, leaving you breathless and actually blushing. And that’s all without having seen the incredible video.

iTunes
Spotify

 

