The Best Tracks of 2015, #19

band01

19. Charli XCX – “Doing It”

I’ve said for the past few years that Charli XCX is a budding pop music genius, so why the heck dodn’t I put her album Sucker in my 2014 top ten like it deserved? That’s what happens when you release your album in mid-December, I guess. But if there’s one album from last year that just got better and better as 2015 went on, it’s that one. And my opinion of Charli only skyrocketed when I saw her conquer the Osheaga fest in August. It was a joyous, sassy, obnoxious, commanding performance, and one of the songs that highlighted that hour-long set in the sunshine was “Doing It”, her biggest single of the year. It actually features Rita Ora, a singer I actually find repulsive, but her annoying persona thankfully doesn’t overwhelm to track. it’s Charli’s song, and it’s Charli who dominates it. Its lyrics are simple, but her bluntness is one of her greatest assets. Like her music, her lyircs are direct and to the point. Let’s not waste any time, let’s just live and have fun. (Spotify)

